Fire and Rescue

FUNCTIONS & RESPONSIBILITIES

Established in 1994, Fire-Rescue provides emergency services to an immense response area, covering 1132 square miles. Operating from 33 fire stations located in the beautiful South Carolina Lowcountry, the department is one of the largest ISO Class 4 Fire Departments in the United States. The staff is comprised of 175 volunteer firefighters, supported by 81 cross-trained career personnel. Fire-Rescue operates a fleet of 128 vehicles including 38 engines, 38 tenders, 7 brush trucks, 12 paramedic ambulances, 2 E-One 95' Platforms and 1 ARFF (aircraft unit).

 

Services

  • Fire Suppression
  • BLS & ALS Emergency Medical First Response
  • Paramedic Level Emergency Medical Transport
  • Fire and Life Safety Education / Prevention Activities
  • Fire Inspections / Code Enforcement
  • Fire Investigation / Arson Detection / Computer Fire Modeling
  • Technician Level Hazardous Materials Mitigation
  • Technical Rescue / Extrication
  • Water Rescue and Recovery
  • Confined Space and High Level Rescue
  • Public Education/ Fire Prevention
  • Aviation Crash Rescue

 

 

Through a progressive local government, the department has experienced tremendous growth since 2002. Fire-Rescue constructed and equipped eleven new fire stations to extend coverage to several rural communities and reduced the ISO classification countywide. The department assumed suppression duties within four municipalities and began providing countywide ALS/Paramedic Level Emergency Medical Services. All career staff members are cross-trained as Firefighters and Emergency Medical Technicians (Basic, Intermediate or Paramedic), an effort that greatly improved operations for the citizens.

CONTACT INFORMATION

113 Mable T. Willis Blvd
Walterboro, SC  29488
Phone: 843-539-1960
Fax: 843-539-1963
Email: info@colletonfire.com
Official Website: colletonfire.com

HOURS OF OPERATION

To Report an Emergency in Colleton County:  Dial 9-1-1

After Hours Dispatcher:  843-782-4420

Business Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am - 5pm
Training Division Office Hours: Monday-Friday 8 am – 5 pm

 

STAFF CONTACTS

Colleton County Fire Rescue:

Barry McRoy, Chief                                              bmcroy@colletoncounty.org


David Greene , Deputy Chief                                 dgreene@colletoncounty.org

 

Marty Stallings, Asst. Chief/Logistics                    mstallings@colletoncounty.org


Daniel A. Barb, Battalion Chief                              dbarb@colletoncounty.org


Brent Dalton, Battalion Chief                                 bdalton@colletoncounty.org


Ben Heape, Battalion Chief                                   bheape@colletoncounty.org


Scott Feather, Battalion Chief,  Fire Training          sfeather@colletoncounty.org


Joseph Campbell, Battalion Chief                          jcampbell@colletoncounty.org

Medical Training/Chief Medical Officer


Richard Sheffield, Captain / Fire Marshal,               rsheffield@colletoncounty.org


S. Michael Banks, Lt./ Asst Fire Marshal,              sbanks@colletoncounty.org



Fire Commissioners
LaVern Polk, Chairman
S.G. Drew, Vice-Chairman 
Jerry Breland
Clyde Capers
Doug Mixson, Sr.